home

Foreign Language Teaching Wiki


Note: This wiki was created by foreign language teaching methods students during the fall 2006 semester. Membership was limited to the students enrolled in the participating classes only. The project has now ended and although the wiki remains active as a resource, we are not admitting new members or updating any content. Thanks for understanding.


UT2.jpeg USC2.gif UF2.jpeg

"...the blogosphere is a community that might produce a work. Whereas a wiki is a work that might produce a community." (Ward Cunningham)


Welcome to the wiki space for foreign language teaching!

This is a collaborative project of the University of Florida, the University of South Carolina and the University of Tennessee, under the supervision of:
Dr. Nike Arnold
mnarnold@utk.edu
Dr. Lara Ducate
ducate@gwm.sc.edu
Dr. Lara Lomicka
lomicka@gwm.sc.edu
Dr. Gillian Lord
glord@rll.ufl.edu

DSC02110.JPG

Together, you and your colleagues will develop the Foreign Language Teaching Wiki to serve as a resource for yourselves and future foreign language teachers.


Feedback: which errors to correct, oral and/or written, when, how, why, etc.
Rebecca Hughes / USC - Lomicka: HUGHESRF@mailbox.sc.edu
Koji Nishida / UT: knishida@utk.edu
Bradley Blair / UT: bblair1@utk.edu
S. H. / UT: sherty@utk.edu
Erin Czarra / UT
Anthony Easter / UT: aeaster1@utk.edu
Christian Ahihou/ UF: ahihouchristian@yahoo.fr


Language choice: do we use the target language or the native language in the classroom, all or nothing versus mixed approach, how to decide, pros and cons, etc.
Carol Edwards / USC - Lomicka: carolledwards@hotmail.com
Juan Gomez / UT: jgomez3@utk.edu
Manjit Bhatti / UT: mbhatti1@utk.edu
Ora Bukoshi / UT: obukoshi@utk.edu
Felicia Chigo Anonyuo / UF: ifuru12@aol.com
Montserrat E Lopez / UF: montse@ufl.edu
Jackie Lohmann / USC - Ducate: lohmannj@mailbox.sc.edu


Technology: its use in and out of the classroom, tools, activities, pros and cons, etc.
Caroline Oats / USC - Lomicka: oatesc@mailbox.sc.edu
Bélgica Holt / UT: bholt13@utk.edu
Mehtap Ince / UT: mince@utk.edu
Ray Flanary / UT: ray@gmx.us
Gerard-Alain Michel / UF: gmichel@ufl.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh / UF: vinodhv@ufl.edu
Richard Sell / USC - Ducate: sell@mailbox.sc.edu


Culture: how do we define it, how to teach it, techniques for teaching culture (3Ps, process-oriented, etc.)
Erin McDavitt / USC - Lomicka: erinmcdavitt@yahoo.com
Megan González / UT: mgonzal1@utk.edu
Romana Rouskova / UT: rrousko1@utk.edu
William Hinton / UT: whinton@utk.edu
Sharon Ramos-Ceballos / UF: sramos@ufl.edu
Carmen Sales/ UF: salesc@ufl.edu
Harris King / USC - Ducate: ohk4@gmx.de


Grammar: what is the role of grammar in the communicative classroom, how to teach grammar, how to contextualize grammar, techniques for including grammar (storytelling/PACE, etc.)
Wendy Rickenbaker / USC - Lomicka: wendyrickenbaker@yahoo.com
Jessica Whitter / UT: jessicablue84@aol.com
Masha Kamyshkova / UT: kmasha@utk.edu
Noella Nyemba / UT: nnyemba@utk.edu
Moniqua Acosta-Heyman / UF: macosta@ufl.edu
Alfonso Camiñas-Muiña / UF: fonso@ufl.edu


There is also an additional resource page created and maintained by your professors on Resources and Tips for Teachers. This page will include websites, resources, documents, activities, articles, news stories, etc. You are welcome to contribute to this page as you can whenever you find something you think your classmates would find interesting.